Pentatonic Scales

Access free Virtual Piano List of 50 Free Piano Lessons Free Scale Ear Trainer

Learn how to play pentatonic scale, which is used in most of the oriental music. Pentatonic scale is made up of five notes. In the key of C, the notes are: C, G, D, A, E, C.

The formula of Pentatonic Scale is – 2HS, 2HS, 3HS, 2HS, 3HS
[HS – half step, Review: Intervals]

G is the perfect 5th of key C (moving up in a clockwise direction),
D is the perfect 5th of G, and so on.
[Access – Circle of the FifthsC, G, D, A, E are the five consecutive keys in a clockwise direction]

If we put the above notes into one octave, the notes will be C, D, E, G, A.

And, if we transpose C, D, E, G, A into all the black keys, the notes will be Gb, Ab, Bb, Db, Eb, see the diagram below:

F# / Gb Ab Bb Db Eb
| | | | |
| | | | |


Pentatonic Scale

Click the icon below to access free virtual piano to practice all of these scales in the chart below:

Music Tools - Virtual Piano

List of all the pentatonic scales in 12 keys are:

Major Pentatonic Scale Notes of the
Pentatonic Scale
_____ ___________________
C C, D, E, G, A, C
D D, E, Gb, A, B, D
E E, Gb, Ab, B, Db, E
F F, G, A, C, D, F
G G, A, B, D, E, G
A A, B, Db, E, Gb, A
B B, Db, Eb, Gb, Ab, B
F# or Gb F#/Gb, Ab, Bb, Db, Eb, F#/Gb
Ab Ab, Bb, C, Eb, F, Ab
Bb Bb, C, D, F, G, Bb
Db Db, Eb, F, Ab, Bb, Db
Eb Eb, F, G, Bb, C, Eb


Related Tutorials:



Comments are closed.