Names of Piano Keys

Next > Learn Music Notations
Piano Keyboards
Learn Christmas Songs online

There are 88 piano keys on a full-size piano keyboard. They are made up of seven (7) whilte keys, and five (5) black keys throughout the piano keyboard. Today, we will be learning the names of these piano keys.

[Review: Piano Layout]

You will be able to test your skills at the end of this lesson using “Keyboard Trainer” written by Ricci Adams.

There are only 12 key names to remember - seven white keys and five black keys, since these keys are repeated throughout the keyboard. Watch two videos below to help you quickly recognize each key’s name in relation to its position on the piano keyboard.

White Key Names

Names of 7 white keys are:

C, D, E, F, G, A, and B

Black Key Names

Names of 5 black keys are: (each of them has two names)

A group of two black keys are:
C# (or, Db), and D# (or, Eb)

A group of three black keys are:
F# (or, Gb), G#(or, Ab), and A# (or, Bb)

Now we have learned the names of all of the piano keys, let’s use the Keyboard Trainer below to test what we’ve just learned.


1. Click on the “New Key” button (on blue panel) to start
2. A new key on the piano keyboard will be highlighted (in blue)
3. Select the correct key name from the key pad
4. A box will pop up showing “Correct” or “Incorrect” for your answer
5. The trainer will keep track of your scores (see your scores above the “New Key” button).

Essential Dictionary of Music Notation: The Most Practical and Concise Source for Music Notation (The Essential Dictionary Series)

Lesson 2 - Name of White Keys

Yamaha YPT-230 61-Key Portable Keyboard
Great for both beginners & experienced players.
385 natural sounding voices, including Stereo Grand Piano
371 XGlite voices, 13 drum kits & a sound effect kit

Lesson 3 - Names of Black Piano Keys

Alfred’s Basic Adult Piano Course: Lesson Book, Level One

Alfred’s Basic Piano Library: Lesson Book Level 1B

Piano Basics

Lesson 1 - Layout of Piano Keys
Lesson 2 - Names of White Keys
Lesson 3 - Names of Black Keys
Lesson 4 - Piano Grand Staff
Lesson 5 - Music Notation - Note Durations

Beginners Piano

Lesson 6 - Learn How to Play “Brother John”
Lesson 7 - Learn How to Play “London Bridge is Falling Down”
Lesson 8 - Learn How to Play “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star”
Lesson 9 - Playing the Major Chord
Lesson 10 - Three Primary Chords
Lesson 11 - 12 Bar Blues Chord Progression

Use these Free Music Training Tools below to test your piano skills:

- Keyboard Trainer
- Virtual Keyboard
- Note Trainer
- Interval Ear Trainer
- Scale Ear Trainer
- Chord Ear Trainer

Comments are closed.


You need to log in to vote

The blog owner requires users to be logged in to be able to vote for this post.

Alternatively, if you do not have an account yet you can create one here.

Powered by Vote It Up